Further Reading

Here are some of the sources that I’ve used for my articles:

Butler, Charles (2006) Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children’s Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones and Susan Cooper

Carpenter, Humphrey (1977) J R R Tolkien: A Biography

Cooper, Susan (1996) Dreams and Wishes: Essays on Writing for Children

Day, David (1991) Tolkien: The Illustrated Encyclopaedia

Gaiman, Neil (2016) The View from the Cheap Seats

Garner, Alan (1997) The Voice That Thunders

Haber, Karen (2001) Meditations on Middle Earth

Le Guin, Ursula (2016) Words Are My Matter

Lively, Penelope (2013) Ammonites & Leaping Fish

McCabe, Joseph (2004) Hanging Out With The Dream King: conversations with Neil Gaiman and his collaborators

Mendlesohn, Farah (2012) The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature

Morse, Donald E. (2011) The Mythic Fantasy of Robert Holdstock

Shippey, Tom (1982) The Road to Middle Earth

Shippey, Tom (2000) J R R Tolkien: Author of the Century

Taylor, Chris (2014) How Star Wars Conquered the Universe

Ward, Michael (2010) The Narnia Code

Ward, Michael (2007) Planet Narnia

Wynne Jones, Diana (2012) Reflections

Here’s a few links to the web/blogsites of fellow writers and artists whom I admire:

Tad Williams: http://www.tadwilliams.com/

Kristine Kathryn Rusch: http://www.kristinekathrynrusch.com/

Michael Moorcock: http://www.multiverse.org/

Guy Gavriel Kay: http://www.brightweavings.com/index.htm

Terri Windling: http://www.terriwindling.com/

Charles Vess: http://www.greenmanpress.com/

Ellen Datlow: http://www.datlow.com/

Frank Herbert: http://www.arrakis.co.uk/

David Gemmell (Legend Awards): http://gemmellaward.com/

S M Stirling: http://www.smstirling.com/

Charles de Lint: http://www.sfsite.com/charlesdelint/

Neil Gaiman: http://www.neilgaiman.com/

Terry Brooks: http://www.terrybrooks.net/

Robert Silverberg: http://www.majipoor.com/

Alan Garner: http://alangarner.atspace.org/

George R R Martin: http://georgerrmartin.com/

Mervyn Peake: http://www.mervynpeake.org/gormenghast/

Philip K Dick: http://www.philipkdick.com/

J R R Tolkien: http://www.tolkien-online.com/

C S Lewis: http://www.cslewis.com/

Orson Scott Card: http://www.hatrack.com/

Brandon Sanderson: http://www.brandonsanderson.com/

Robert Jordan/Wheel of Time: http://www.dragonmount.com/

Terry Pratchett: http://www.terrypratchettbooks.com/

Robin Hobb: http://robinhobb.com/

Ursula Le Guin: http://www.ursulakleguin.com/

Robert Holdstock: http://robertholdstock.com/

Amanda Hemingway (Jan Siegel): http://www.amandahemingway.co.uk/

Freda Warrington: http://www.fredawarrington.com/

William Horwood: http://www.williamhorwood.co.uk/

Lord Dunsany: http://www.dunsany.net/18th.htm

Howard Shore: http://www.howardshore.com/

Stephen King: http://www.stephenking.com/index.html

John Howe: http://www.john-howe.com/blog/

Anne McCaffrey: http://pernhome.com/pern/

One Response to “Further Reading”

  1. Wordwytch March 4, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    I find that we have very similar tastes in authors. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

NBA.com | Hang Time Blog

The official news blog of NBA.com with commentary and analysis from NBA.com's staff of writers.

Beechdey's Weblog

A general web which talks about local or world issues that affect us all

An Unexpected Life Chosen

A freelance writer, clairvoyant medium, credit manager, chakra meditation teacher, traveller, animal lover, past-life healer, and a change advocate.........having walked many paths, I ask; did I really sign up for this?

The Story of the Four

Forays into Fantasy, Myth, and Culture by Josh Bertetta, Ph.D.

Wild Grace

soul retrieval + practical magic

The Lonely Refinery

Mostly rambling about various things

Decoration Themes

Home Decor and Design

Wandersail

"This is my sacred fire. This is my holy place. These are the words of my prayer."

breathofgreenair

mindfulness, relaxation, thought provoking images and poems

♥ spin your circle bright ♥

Simple celebrations and seasonal connection ♥

Journey of a Dutch Witch

The spiritual journey of a young sports lover from Holland

Sunny District

Welcome to my happy place!

A photo blog

(Does exactly what it says on the tin)

My 2nd Closet

-- With my set-aside lovelies <3

The Druid Bird

thoughts from a warped reality

Living Fae

Reflecting Inside Out

Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

Stories, poems and thoughts about things I find interesting!

%d bloggers like this: